top of page

The Kickoff is on!!

Hallelujah! The kickoff event is now officially good to go. There were a few stressful days as I attempted to establish a venue for the event. 3 weeks ago I began contact with the City of Calgary regarding a spot to hold the kickoff. The west side of City Hall steps had been booked, as had Olympic Plaza. The Plaza was reserved by the Calgary International Children’s Festival that starts on May 25th. Once I found all this out, I started to worry as I had anticipated doing the event close to City Hall. Last week, I went over to the area and found the perfect spot – just across from Ca’Puccini Theatre Café, at 205 - 8th Ave SE, in the Arts Commons Building. I inquired with the café as to whether I might be able to use their power – no go. They did give me a couple of email addresses for the Arts Commons administration, however. From that point on, things have gone swimmingly. The Arts Commons and Children’s Festival administrations have been terrific. So my sleepless nights are behind me! Big thank you to Wes Jenkins and Brian Beaulieu!

The kickoff goes at 9:30 AM Friday May 20th. There’ll be a few speeches, music and the opportunity to join me on the first leg of the journey. I should depart for Chestermere at about 10AM. Now if we can just get the weatherman to change the forecast!!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page